Welsh rarebit recipe – and a story

I love British food and melted cheese, so a Welsh rarebit should be a dish I cook all the time, but I don’t because it’s all cheese and eggs and it feels as if I was eating a heart attack. But last night I was tired and didn’t know what to cook and didn’t get a chance to go to the market, so I decided to make a Welsh rarebit. I had a loaf of bread that was a bit stale so toasting it would be a great way to eat it. We got a rosemary olive oil loaf which was really nice.

I like Welsh rarebit – it’s basically melted cheese on toast which is great comfort food. Purists may poo poo my Welsh rarebit, and I don’t claim it’s super authentic, but it was good.

Welsh rarebit – serves two, generously 

  • Shredded cheese – I had some fat free cheddar cheese. I used about two cups.
  • 3 large eggs
  • A dash of Worcester sauce
  • 1 tbl of good quality mustard (not French’s hot dog stuff)
  • 2 tsp of good quality dried mustard – I use Coleman’s
  • 4 thick slices of bread that isn’t too soft or mushy
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • Cayenne pepper

Preheat the oven to 450. In a bowl beat the eggs until well-mixed. Add the Worcester sauce, mustard, dried mustard, and cheese and mix. It should be a thick, scraggly paste. If it’s too wet, add a bit more cheese. Add a pinch of cayenne pepper and the black pepper.

Take your slices of bread and pile on the mixture over the bread – try to cover the crust if you can, otherwise it can burn. Bake for about 15 minutes. I then lower the heat to 350 and cook for another 10, 15 minutes until the cheese is puffy and it’s golden brown. Check often to make sure that the food isn’t burning. Serve with some good beer and a side salad. Oh, and enjoy.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under cooking

Leave a Reply

