Vegetarian black bean burger – a recipe

Switching over to a vegetarian diet isn’t easy, but it does mean being as creative as I can with vegetables. I love burgers and am pretty bummed that I’ll never eat one again. I started looking to fake burgers – like Boca or Morning Star, but saw that what the veggie burgers lacked in meat-based trans fat, they more than made up for in sodium and salt. Also, I became that guy who reads the nutritional chart on packets of food at the market. I hate that guy.

So, I decided to make my own black bean burgers. The idea is basically a black bean falafel and as I prepared it I realized how similar black bean burgers were to falafel – they’re just bigger and a different shape.

This is a recipe that really is very versatile – you put what you want in your black bean burger. Make any adjustments.

Ingredients:
1 can of low-sodium black beans – I used Bush’s Best. You’ll have to rinse the beans in a colander because the beans come in an inky sludge.
1/4 cup of onions chopped finely
1/4 cup of mushrooms chopped finely
1 tbl of hot Chinese mustard – I put this in everything
1 tsp of Worcester sauce
1 garlic clove, minced
1/4 cup of egg white substitute – I use Wild Harvest Organic
Pepper
1 tsp of Sirachi sauce – or any kind of hot sauce you’d like – Piri Piri is good.
1/2 cup of bread crumbs  – whole wheat’s healthiest

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

In a large bowl, mash the beans well with a fork. Set aside. In a small pan sweat the onions and mushrooms and cook until the mushrooms start to color a bit. Add to the mashed beans. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix well. Form into patties and put on a lined baking dish that has been sprayed with cooking spray. Bake for about 30 minutes. Serve on buns with sliced tomato and sliced onion. Oh, and enjoy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under cooking, recipe

Leave a Reply

