Recipe: Shakshuka

I got the recipe for shakshuka from an amazing blog I read – CHICAGO CARLESS by Michael Doyle – probably my favorite blogger. A recent blog post, “On How I Doctor My Shakshuka” Doyle shared with his readers a recipe for the Israeli/Northern African dish. He doctored the orignal recipe because it takes too long too cook, so subbed canned tomatoes for fresh ones – I followed his advice. Because I’m watching my cholesterol intake, I substituted the poached egg with egg whites –  Wild Harvest Organic is what I buy. Instead of poaching the egg (which looked amazing), I drizzled half a cup of the egg white and stirred. And he uses too much cheese, so I used just a couple tablespoons of Parmesan cheese.

For Doyle’s recipe, click here to read the article.

My version of shakshuka
1 can of chopped tomatoes
1 can – 6 oz – of tomato sauce
1 tbl of tomato paste
1/2 yellow onion, minced
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 yellow, orange or red bell pepper, chopped
1 carrot, chopped
6 oz of mushrooms, chopped – I had shiitake in my fridge that I wanted to up.
Palmful of cumin
Palmful of paprika
1 tsp cinnamon
Olive oil
2 tbl of Parmesan cheese
1 healthy bunch of parsley, chopped
1 tsp sugar
1 tbl of hot Chinese mustard – seriously, I’m putting this in everything

I use a large nonstick pan – it’s the only one in my kitchen with a metal handle (you need to use a broiler at the end of this). I poured about 2 tbl of olive oil and swirled it around and heated on medium-high heat. When the oil is shimmery, drop in the cinnamon, cumin and paprika and stir, letting the spices bloom. It’ll become a sludgy paste – which is awesome. Drop in the garlic and mix and continue to stir, until the garlic starts to cook and become fragrant. Throw in the onions and stir, letting the paste coat the onions and continue to cook, letting it become translucent. Throw in the pepper and carrots and continue to cook, letting the pepper soften. Throw in the mushrooms and stir. Drop in the tomatoes and tomato sauce and stir continuously, so that the stew doesn’t burn. Add the mustard and the tomato paste and continue to stir. Let the vegetables cook for about 10, 15 minutes – the stew will become thick. Add the sugar, salt and pepper. Drizzle in the egg white and stir and cook – the egg white will curdle, which is fine. Sprinkle in the parsley and continue to stir (lotsa stirring, I know). Finally sprinkle the cheese and then – if you’d like, put the pan underneath the broiler for about 5 minutes until the cheese melts. Serve with pita bread.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under cooking

Leave a Reply

