Love pie

Like many Americans, I show my affection and love for others by cooking. My partner, whom I love very much, loves lemon desserts almost as much as he loves me. So, I took it upon myself to make him lemon pie once. Now, this was a spontaneous gesture of culinary affection and so I wasn’t sure if I had all the ingredients at hand. I rummaged through the cupboards and saw that I didn’t have sugar, nor did I have fresh lemons.

Now, normal people would’ve either a) given up or b) gone to the market.

Instead, I pushed forward. I dug through my fridge and found a bottle of concentrated lemon juice – the sort that comes in a squeeze bottle in the shape of a lemon. And rummaging through my cupboard, I discovered a box of Splenda. I decided that this would suffice. I followed the recipe and baked the lemon pie and put in the fridge to set.

Once it was done, it looked lovely – just like the kinds of lemon pies you can buy in the bakery. The lemon curd was pretty – bright yellow from the egg yolks. I cut up slices for the both of us and then I bit into a piece. The cold fooled me into thinking that the pie was good, because it wasn’t. The sour hit and sort of hit me like a tsunami of disgusting. My partner also tried gulping down a piece but also found it hard to stomach the bitter-sour of the lemon curd. He then asked me through a mouthful if I forgot the sugar.

So, moral of the story: don’t substitute concentrated lemon juice with fresh lemon juice (apparently, it’s a lot harsher) and remember to use real sugar and not Splenda. Or just to be on the safe side, if you want lemon pie, just go out and buy some.

Leave a comment

Filed under cooking, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

